World Languages

World Language teachers wearing orange t-shirts
World Languages Teachers showing their Warrior pride (Susan Haley, Katy Wheelock, Aymee Buzzi, Edson Arango Gomez, Kamisha Wilcott, Eliana Molina, Ana Munoz-Gonzalez).

The Vision for World Languages at Wakefield High School:
Students communicating enthusiastically about a variety of topics and in multiple contexts while enriching their lives and preparing for a successful future

Wakefield World Language teachers are members of professional organizations including the American Association Teachers of Spanish and Portuguese (AATSP), the American Council of Teachers of Foreign Languages (ACTFL), the American Association Teachers of French (AATF), Foreign Language Association of Virginia (FLAVA), and the Washington D.C. Alliance Française. Teachers often take advantage of local trainings offered through the Embassy of France and Spain to further their professional development and enrich their classes.

French students in levels 4 and higher may be selected for the Société Honoraire de Français, a French National Honor Society sponsored through AATF. Spanish students may be selected for the Sociedad Honoraria Hispánica, a Spanish National Honor Society sponsored through AATSP.

French students participate in the AATF Grand Concours, a nationally recognized exam for French students across the United States. Likewise, Spanish students participate in the National Spanish Exam. In 2015, two Wakefield students achieved distinction on this year’s National Latin Exam: Latin I student Liam Chambers and Latin II student Sean Kenney. Both received cum laude awards.

In past years, French students have participated in an exchange program through the Arlington-Reims Sister City Committee Exchange with Reims, France, Arlington’s Sister City. Spanish Immersion students have traveled to Costa Rica as part of their program in past years.

Because of our Spanish Immersion Program, we maintain a close link with the Embassy of Spain in Washington D.C. as an ISA school and were named ISA High School of the Year in 2015. Teachers maintain other professional relationships with French and Spanish speakers in North and South American, Europe, Africa, and Asia.

Wakefield hosts a “Declamation Contest” in March every other year. This event features selected World Language students from beginners to more advanced reciting memorized poetry before a large audience in the school auditorium. A panel of fluent speakers of outside judges, often university level professors or embassy staff, rate the students on rubrics. Winners receive small prizes donated by local businesses and individuals. If you wish to contribute or participate, please contact kathryn.wheelock@apsva.us.

World Languages Courses Offered:

  • Spanish Immersion Program (course content in Spanish and 9th grade biology)
  • Spanish for Fluent Speakers
  • Spanish I-V
  • AP Spanish Language and Culture
  • AP Spanish Literature
  • Advanced Studies in Spanish
  • French I-V
  • AP French Language and Culture
  • Advanced Studies in French
  • American Sign Language
  • Virtual@APS Wakefield students can also take classes in German, Latin, Arabic, Chinese, and Japanese

Faculty

Faculty
E-Mail
Kathryn Wheelock (Department Chair, French teacher) kathryn.wheelock@apsva.us
Edson Arango Gomez (Spanish teacher) edson.arangogomez@apsva.us
Michelle Banks (American Sign Language Teacher) michelle.banks@apsva.us
Aymee Buzzi (Spanish teacher) aymee.buzzi@apsva.us
Sandra Costa (Spanish teacher) sandra.costa@apsva.us
Susan Haley (French teacher) susan.haley@apsva.us
Zainab Kufaishi (Arabic teacher) zainab.kufaishi@apsva.us
Hyangri My (Japanese teacher) hyangri.my@apsva.us
Sumer Majid (Arabic teacher) sumer.majid@apsva.us
Lori McFail (Distance Learning teacher) lori.mcfail@apsva.us
Eliana Molina (Spanish teacher) eliana.molina@apsva.us
Ana Munoz Gonzalez (Spanish teacher) ana.munozgonzalez@apsva.us
Silke Reeves (German teacher) silke.reeves@apsva.us
Kamisha Wilcott (Spanish teacher) kamisha.wilcott@apsva.us
Yue Zhen (Chinese teacher) yue.zhen@apsva.us