World Languages

We are ready to take on the challenges of this school year.  Join us in our language-learning adventures!

2020 World Language Grid View Photo

Faculty 2021-2022

Faculty
E-Mail
Kathryn Wheelock (Department Chair, French) kathryn.wheelock@apsva.us
Zainab Ajaz (ASL) zainab.ajaz@apsva.us
Wasan Al Qaisi wasan.alqaisi@apsva.us
Edson Arango Gomez (Spanish) edson.arangogomez@apsva.us
Aymee Buzzi (Spanish) aymee.buzzi@apsva.us
Sandra Costa (Spanish) sandra.costa@apsva.us
Susan Haley (French) susan.haley@apsva.us
Margaret Johnson (Spanish) margaret.johnson@apsva.us
Maxim Khutoryan (ASL) maxim.khutoryan@apsva.us
Hyangri Ma (Japanese) hyangri.ma@apsva.us
David Trave Medina (Spanish) medina.trave@apsva.us
Ana Munoz-Gonzalez (Spanish) ana.munozgonzalez@apsva.us
Zainab Kufaishi (Arabic teacher) zainab.kufaishi@apsva.us 

 

Wakefield World Language teachers are members of professional organizations including the American Association Teachers of Spanish and Portuguese (AATSP), the American Council of Teachers of Foreign Languages (ACTFL), the American Association Teachers of French (AATF), Foreign Language Association of Virginia (FLAVA), and the Washington D.C. Alliance Française. Teachers often take advantage of local trainings offered through the Embassy of France and Spain to further their professional development and enrich their classes.

World Languages Spirit
World Languages Department Spirit

French students in levels 4 and higher may be selected for the Société Honoraire de Français, a French National Honor Society sponsored through AATF. Spanish students may be selected for the Sociedad Honoraria Hispánica, a Spanish National Honor Society sponsored through AATSP.

French students participate in the AATF Grand Concours, a nationally recognized exam for French students across the United States. Likewise, Spanish students may participate in the National Spanish Exam. The National Latin Exam and National German Exam are also offered to Wakefield students.  Wakefield student often win high-ranking awards.

In past years, French students have participated in an exchange program through the Arlington-Reims Sister City Committee Exchange with Reims, France, Arlington’s Sister City. Spanish Immersion students have traveled to Costa Rica as part of their program in past years.

Because of our Spanish Immersion Program, we maintain a close link with the Embassy of Spain in Washington D.C. as an ISA school and were named ISA High School of the Year in 2015. Teachers maintain other professional relationships with French and Spanish speakers in North and South American, Europe, Africa, and Asia.

Wakefield hosts a “Declamation Contest” in late winter every other year. This event features selected World Language students from beginners to more advanced reciting memorized poetry before a large audience in the school auditorium. A panel of fluent speakers of outside judges, often university level professors or embassy staff, rate the students on rubrics. Winners receive small prizes donated by local businesses and individuals. If you wish to contribute or participate, please contact kathryn.wheelock@apsva.us.

World Languages Courses Offered:

  • Spanish Immersion Program (Course Content in Spanish and 9th grade Intensified Biology and Intensified Chemistry)
  • Spanish for Fluent Speakers (levels I, II, III)
  • Spanish (Levels I-V)
  • AP Spanish Language and Culture
  • AP Spanish Literature
  • Advanced Studies in Spanish
  • French (Levels I-V)
  • AP French Language and Culture
  • Advanced Studies in French
  • American Sign Language (levels I – IV)
  • Blended Learning courses are also offered to Wakefield students in German, Latin, Arabic, Chinese, and Japanese