Winter Sports

horizontal_black_warrior_greenW.png

 

 

Wakefield Athletics (Mission)

The Student Activities Office encourages a positive and enthusiastic environment where coaches can provide opportunities for student athletes to excel thru the teaching of life-long lessons in leadership, teamwork, discipline, sportsmanship and competitiveness.   Collaboratively, the activities office and coaching staff strive to promote our student athletes to develop and implement these life-long characteristics on and off the playing field. We value the “Wakefield Way” where we challenge our students to excel in Rigor, Relationships, Resilience, Responsibility, and Results. “The Wakefield student athlete will be able to excel in high school thru their experiences in Wakefield athletics; gaining experiences from the diversity, passion, learning from mistakes, academic importance, modeling good citizenship, self-esteem, and forming trusting relationships with coaches and teammates. Together, we can change the culture of “That’s Just Wakefield” to mean “We Are Wakefield” with PRIDE!

 

Athletic Game Schedules : warriorswhsathletics.com

Winter Sports Information

Winter sports tryouts begins November  6, 2017 and there is a minimum of 3 days for tryouts. It is imperative that students get physicals in early to Ms.Kigin to avoid long lines and disappointment. Ms.Kigin will be in Town Hall on October 31, November 1, 2, 3, and 4 during all three lunches.You can turn in your physical, or get your green clearance slip if she already has your physical. This means if you have already played a sport this fall, you must see Ms. Kigin again to get your “green clearance slip” Don’t be one of those 100 kids in line on November 6 who procrastinates; There is no extra time allowed to turn in this assignment! If you have questions, see Mr. Strauss in E-117, or Ms. Kigin in E-030 (on lower level). Physical forms are available here and also on www.warriorswhsathletics.com

All sports require a 2017-2018 Revised VHSL Physical Packet

Winter Sports Practice Calendar

Winter Coaches Contact List

Sport Level Coach
E-Mail Contact
Boys Basketball Varsity – Head Tony Bentley tony.bentley@apsva.us
Varsity – Assistant Horace Willis/Tre Ford horace.willis@apsva.us
JV Coach TBD/James Bigsby
Freshman Coach Kenny James kenneth.james@apsva.us
Freshman Coach  Andrew Allen andrew.allen@apsva.us
Girls Basketball Varsity – Head Marcia Richardson marcia.richardson@apsva.us

Varsity – Assistant

 

TBD

Donnell Boyce

TBD

dboyce370@gmail.com

JV Coach TBD TBD
Freshman Coach Zenola Lewis zenola.lewis@dcwater.com
Wrestling Varsity – Head Jeff Humphries jeffhump@verizon.net
Varsity – Assistant Bart Skiba bskiba@hotmail.com
JV Coach Jackson Aleman jackson.aleman@apsva.us
Cheerleading Varsity – Head Tamar Willis whscheercoach@gmail.com
JV Coach Unika Dabney unika.dabney@apsva.us
Freshman Coach Brittney James jamesbrittney3588@gmail.com
Swim & Dive Varsity – Head Sean Carey sean.carey@apsva.us
Boys & Girls Varsity – Assistant Greg Campbell
Angeline Palmer
gregory.campbell@apsva.us
angeline.palmer@apsva.us
DIVE Coach Patrick Wheldon pwhelden@yahoo.com
Girls Gymnastics Varsity – Head Nancy Nunez njan411@gmail.com
Varsity – Assistant Lindsay Cowen lindsay.cowen11@gmail.com
Rifle Varsity Ben Woods wakefieldrifle@gmail.com
Varsity – Assistants TBD
Indoor Track Main Contact Adam Alderton adam.alderton@apsva.us
Varsity – Assistant Josh Merck josh.merck@apsva.us
Varsity – Assistant Will Harber william.harber@apsva.us

@wakeathletics

WakeAthletics

Wakefield Athletics

@WakeAthletics
RT @WakeCab: Wakefield English teacher Muktaru Jalloh speaks at Gunston 8th grade promotion. Gunston '08 Wakefield '12 Always making @APS
Published June 24, 17 1:55PM
                                        
Follow